Copying several columns

Richard70

Hello. I download several spreadsheets monthly that have a large number of columns (A to EZ). In every excel spreadsheet I need to copy only 18 different columns of data from the sheet which are the same columns each month, and put them into a new spreadsheet. It is very time consuming to highlight and copy a few columns at a time throughout the whole sheet.

I am not very experienced in excel, but is there a simple way to copy all of these columns at once out of the spreadsheet and paste them at once into a new one? I would think there must be some way to enter the column letters I need to pull them out.

Thank you so much for any assistance. Greatly appreciated!
-Richard

jbeaucaire

You should be able to get it all into one copy command in a macro:

Rich (BB code):
Sub CopyColumns()
    Sheets("Sheet1").Range("A:B,D:D,G:G,H:J").Copy Sheets("Sheet2").Range("A1")
End Sub

Richard70

You should be able to get it all into one copy command in a macro:

Rich (BB code):
Sub CopyColumns()
    Sheets("Sheet1").Range("A:B,D:D,G:G,H:J").Copy Sheets("Sheet2").Range("A1")
End Sub
Thanks so much. Sounds good. I just need to figure out what a macro is and where I put that code you recommend.

jbeaucaire

How to use the macro:

1. Open up your workbook
2. Get into VB Editor (Press Alt+F11)
3. Insert a new module (Insert > Module)
4. Copy and Paste in your code (given above)
5. Get out of VBA (Press Alt+Q)
6. Save your sheet

The macro is installed and ready to use.

Press Alt-F8 and select it from the macro list.

Richard70

Thanks so much I will try this right now.

One other question regarding where in the code you have: ("A:B,D:D,G:G,H:J")

I need the following columns copied:

D,F,G,I,K,L,P,S,V,W,Y,AB,AC,AI,AS,EU,EV,EW

So do I just enter those like that in place of the letters you show in example? I don't understand the ":" between the letters you have.

Thanks again for clarifying! :)

jbeaucaire