Copyright issues - creating a Excel scoring program of a questionnaire?

perola.rike

Board Regular
Maybe this forum not the appropriate place to post this (?), but I have not found any other websites raising the issue.

My question is about to which extent does the copyright of questionnaires extend to a simple unofficial Excel scoring calculator?

The thing is, I work as a neuropsychologist where I daily score questionnaires from patients. In order to automatize my work, I have created many timesaving Excel scoring solutions of many questionnaires. The questionnaires are copyrighted.

My question is: If I make a simple scoring calculator in Excel, is it OK to distribute it to other users/colleagues?

One example is the MoCA test, it contains 12 items that are simply summed to a total score. My Excel application only permits the user to enter the raw score for each item, then a total score is displayed. See example below (in Norwegian).

The owner of the test claims this calculator is violation of copyright. I have not reproduced the test/items, only inluded the names of the items, and made this simple sum-formula.

Any comments on this? Or any tips where to find any literature regarding this specific topic?

If copyright extends this far, I assume that automatization of any questionnaires are prohibited, which realy is devastating because it is so time cosuming making such calculators (that for many questionnaires are not available).

MoCA (test-items to the left)

Trail making0
Kopiering av kube0
Klokketegning0
Benevning (dyr)3
Tallhukommelse2
Banking1
Regning (seriell substraksjon)3
Gjentakelse av setninger2
Ordflyt1
Abstraksjon2
Utsatt gjenkalling (ordliste)0
Orienteringsspørsmål6
MoCA totalscore21

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
Probably not the correct site to ask such a question