cost and benefit - SQL,VBA

graveyard

hi people, i have a nagging question that ive been constanly asking myself. Now i am turning this question to you experts here for some 3rd party advices/opinions

i am in the midst of going through literature on sql, vba (know nuts abt these) and as i go through, for example sql, i note that what most of the codes and statements achieve can be accomplished in the GUI version, by icons manipulation. i know the icons activate the codes in the background to execute commands and no doubt understanding and knowledge of the codes will be useful but the question is how much more useful? is the benefit of learning sql, vba greater than the cost of acquiring that kind of knowledge and expertise?

i am not too sure abt the general demographic of the members in this forum - whether most are programmers, excel apps developers etc .. but i am a financial analyst who works with ms access and excel (mostly excel). access is used only to store years worth of data and report extraction. wldnt claim to be an expert but i am rather familiar with excel, access GUI .. as in for example, slicing and dicing data with excel formulas and using query design views in access to manipulate data.