Countifs problem

ToniShinobi

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to Excel (used it before, but not heavily) but used to the concept of functions (I have written programs before). I'm trying to Count the number of Entries on a Sheet that match an Hour. Looking through the availiable functions i found COUNTIFS, which is exactly what I want. However, when I try to compare the Hour values within the COUNTIFS arguments, there is an error.

This is the function that I figured would work here:
=COUNTIFS(HOUR(Sheet1!G:G), HOUR(E6))

which should count all entries in column G where its HOUR matches the HOUR in E6 (all are time format). I do realize that in the example above there is only one comparison made and i'm using COUNTIFS instead of COUNTIF, but i'll be adding other comparisons to it once i get this first comparison working.

Help is appreciated!!!
- Toni

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Hello,

I'm somewhat new to Excel (used it before, but not heavily) but used to the concept of functions (I have written programs before). I'm trying to Count the number of Entries on a Sheet that match an Hour. Looking through the availiable functions i found COUNTIFS, which is exactly what I want. However, when I try to compare the Hour values within the COUNTIFS arguments, there is an error.

This is the function that I figured would work here:
=COUNTIFS(HOUR(Sheet1!G:G), HOUR(E6))

which should count all entries in column G where its HOUR matches the HOUR in E6 (all are time format). I do realize that in the example above there is only one comparison made and i'm using COUNTIFS instead of COUNTIF, but i'll be adding other comparisons to it once i get this first comparison working.

Help is appreciated!!!
- Toni

Try...

=SUMPRODUCT((HOUR(Sheet1!G:G)=HOUR(E6))+0)

instead.

Upvote 0