Create Access DB in VBA from Visio (or Excel) in 2000 format but compatible with windows 10

DJHarris71

Hello,
I have many years of experience coding in VBA in Excel and Visio. However, recently I have been asked to create an Access database file from within Visio (or just assume it is Excel - the basis is very similar). Even better it needs to be in Access 2000 format.

I was surprised it was not as straight forward as creating an Excel file with vba - although maybe I am doing something wrong. After doing many web searches - the way I am making my database file is with these commands:
Code:
Set cat = CreateObject("ADOX.Catalog")
cat.Create "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=" & dbPath
cat.ActiveConnection = "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=" & dbPath

I did some research and found if I add the 'Jet OLEDB:Engine Type' to 5 I can get this in 2002/2003 format
Code:
cat.Create "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Jet OLEDB:Engine Type=5;Data Source=" & dbPath

However i can not get this in 2000 format. It seems version 'Engine Type=4' fails (which is probably because these drivers are not loaded in 2010 PC's?)

First: Don't ask why it has to be 2000 format. It just does.
Second: Is there a better way to create an Access database from Visio/Excel VBA (why ADOX and not an Access.Database object or is that what ADOX means)?
Third: Is there a way to save it in 2000 format in a Win 2010 machine?
Lastly: Is there a way to hook into Access 'Save As' feature that does allow you to save a model in 2000 .mdb format?

Thanks
Doug

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
Hello DJHarris71 (or others),

I also need to create an Access database in Access 2000 format (using excel VBA).
Did you find the solution (and do you still remember it) after more than 2.5 years?