Creating a Multipage control without being in a form

conorohio

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
5
Hi,
I am creating a user interface in excel 2003, windows XP. I want to have the multipage control functionality in my worksheet but without having it exist in a bulky and awkward form.

For instance, I have a listbox embedded in my excel worksheet without being encapsulated in a form. However, the control toolbox only gives me a multipage option for userforms. i.e. I can't embed a multipage control directly into my worksheet.

I couldn't find out if excel 2007 allows this. If it doesn't, are there customized patches of some sort that I could download to get this functionality?

Thanks,
Carter
 

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)

Datsmart

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
7,985
On your Controls Toolbar, Click the "More Controls" icon.
Select "Microsoft Forms 2.0 Multi-Page".
Now click your worksheet and you will have a multi=page object.
 

conorohio

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
5
Worked perfectly, thanks a lot. One further question that is kind of off topic to the subject line if you don't mind:

Generally, how much more powerful than excel 2003 is excel 2007 when it comes to things like this i.e. creating a user interface with controls and interacting programmatically with databases?

Thanks,
Carter
 

conorohio

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
5
Now that I have the multipage control in my worksheet, how do I place listboxes within the tabs? I find that if I place a listbox on the multipage, it isn't placed inside it but rather in the worksheet independent of it. I also can't seem to switch between tabs in design mode.

Is there a way to do this? Ultimately I want two listboxes with different properties in each of the two multipage tabs.

Thanks,
Carter
 

Datsmart

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
7,985
I have been playing with it and can not get it to work as expected either. I would suggest creating a UserForm and setup a MultiPage in it.
 

conorohio

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
5
Ya, I was trying to not use forms. Thanks though.

Instead I am using buttons to call up different sets of information in the same list box. However I am having trouble setting the headers for the information since they are different for each set. I see no option for programmatically setting the header name in properties. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks

p.s. I posted about it here:
http://www.mrexcel.com/board2/viewtopic.php?t=284624
but no-one responded to it
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,181,659
Messages
5,931,273
Members
436,786
Latest member
Deniel

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top