Creating a worksheet based on conditions

tbloch

Hello all, and thanks for looking.

I consider myself fairly proficient with excel, but then I tried to take on this task. ;) I am fairly new with this type of excel coding, but I have coded with several other programming langauges in the past and think I can handle it with a few pushes in the right direction.

I want to create a macro that when I hit a button, I create a worksheet, possibly from a template, and add it to the workbook. I would like to select different options using 3 drop down menus on the same page as the "create" button. Based on these conditions, I would like the macro to create a sheet and highlight/display values off of the template.

I think I could do this with a lot of "if menu1 = 1 and menu2 = 1 and menu3 = 1 then copy this template to the end of the workbook" statements. However, this seems like it would take a lot of if/then statements and lot of templates (one for each possibility). I would think it could be done simpler.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Hide all your template sheets and remember which one's which

Then use the dropdown boxes to give some kind of unique identifier in a hidden cell (you could use the form controls and link it to a cell return a number between 1 and however many items are in the dropdown). From this unique identifier you could use a Select Case statement which would identify the sheet to copy. Macro would execute in microseconds.

Would this kind of thing help?

Dave

Upvote 0
Hide all your template sheets and remember which one's which