Data Extract Help

NicM0411

I'm an admitted Excel novice. The back story is I'm an Occupational Therapist that the county approached about creating a program where I physical test police officers on several standardized fitness tests and more or less showing them that they aren't as "in shape" as they think they are. To do this, I'm considering their gender, age, and their performance on a fitness test and then comparing that score to a norm. Doing this by hand is time consuming and I want to provide this results immediately to them. So I created 2 sheets in excel. The first, I will give to the officers at the conclusion of all testing, this sheet will have there gender, age, their score on each test and their percentile that they fall in to. The 2nd sheet is where I entered all my "norms" data into. Its 2 tables per test of varying columns and rows. The tables are divided for "Male" and "Female". Each table then has % in the first column (99%,90%,80%, etc.) and the first row has age brackets (20-29,30-39, etc.). In the cells within the table is the "scores". SO...the problem I have is taking the known data for each participant (Gender, Age and Score) and returning the percentile on the first sheet. I've tried several different combinations. I'm pretty sure I need "IF" function for gender to establish appropriate table but after that it goes down hill for me. I've tried index, lookup, match...I've watched hours of YouTube videos and I feel like I'm close but I'm pretty sure its over my head. Not sure if its a reverse lookup I need but I have duplicate values in each row and I can't come up with the formula to return the correct value. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!!