Data in columns A or B = number, display in column C

scolty1985

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
86
I have 2 columns, either they are both false, or 1 is a number. If one is a number, i want to copy that value to column C.

0.00032 FALSE
0.000855 FALSE
5E-06 FALSE
FALSE0.00037

<colgroup> </colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

So column C would be

0.00032
0.000855
5E-06
0.00037
 

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
I have 2 columns, either they are both false, or 1 is a number. If one is a number, i want to copy that value to column C.

0.00032 FALSE
0.000855 FALSE
5E-06 FALSE
FALSE0.00037

<tbody>
</tbody>

So column C would be

0.00032
0.000855
5E-06
0.00037

Try...

=LOOKUP(9.99999999999999E+307,A2:B2)
 

klingklang

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
23
I'm sure there are many better ways to do this, but this dumb one should do ;) in column C:

=IF(AND(ISLOGICAL(A1),ISLOGICAL(B1)), "", IF(ISLOGICAL(A1),B1,A1))
 
Last edited:

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
49,397
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Both work.
But they do return different results if both cells are FALSE, which was a stated possibility. What result do you want if both FALSE?
 

scolty1985

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
86
@Peter_SSs i hadnt picked up on that :(. Id modified KlingKlangs so that the "" is replaced with a reference to another cell. Pretty sure its working as i need it to now (touch wood)!
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,136,258
Messages
5,674,669
Members
419,520
Latest member
Jennifer4Dillon

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top