!! Data Model Lost Connection to Workbook !! Time Sensitive Request !!

ohnow

Normally I search a long time before posting but I have to get to a meeting and if I cannot get this answered now (4pm EST on a Friday afternoon), I cannot finish work planned for this weekend. I would DEEPLY appreciate any help! The research I've found looks like there is no solution from Microsoft yet?!

I'm new to using Data Models. I've been using a model in a workbook all week to build a report. The data connections have been lost. I've read it may be due to having multiple files open. I've had multiple files open throughout the week and did have another file open when I just lost my connection.

i'm running Office 2016 desktop. I just learned today I have 32 bit (unintentionally) on Win 10 Professional 64 bit.

I completely closed down Excel, made a copy of the workbook and tried re-establishing the connecting. In the data model, I've tried Home-Get External Data-From Other Sources-Excel. I enter the file path, test the connection and the result is successful. There is a message "The file you have chosen is in use. Please close the file before you import". If I close the workbook, the data model closes. I do not believe I can open a data model only?

I can click "Next" but, I get the same message. I cannot click "Finish". How can I re-establish the connect to the workbook I have open?

I'm new to DAX and 90% of my time this week was searching how to make the formulas I needed. Will I lose all that work now?

Thank you, in advance!!!

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
not sure on your connection

32bit on 64 is not a problem, but is limited to 3Gb size

Upvote 0
Thank you. I still cannot find a fix for the connection issue, or if a data model could be opened without opening a workbook, to then re-create a connection to the closed workbook.