data validation list question

ekidlonius

I have been using cascading data validation lists to standardize user inputs on a form we have at work. Sometimes, the input is a custom item that is not included in the predetermined table of items that the data validation looks up. I would like to allow the user to input whatever custom item they have without receiving the pop-up: "value you entered is not valid... A user has restricted values that can be entered into this cell." Basically, I want the lists there to simplify and standardize things, but not restrict users should something different need to be entered in the cell.

Thanks for any help!!

(I am a novice with VBA & macros, but have some experience, so if you think that is the route to go please, please, include notes for each line explaining what you are doing! Thanks!!)

-Ekid

* I'm not saying I'm Batman. Just that you've never seen me & Batman in the same room together *

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
appears to me like someone has already put a limitation its just a case of removing them for the fields where you would have custom entered text.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

In the Data Validation setup, uncheck the Show Error Alert on the Error Alert tab.

HTH,

Upvote 0
I have found that I can enter anything I want in the first category, however the next cascading (dependent) category is where error displays if I try to enter something in the cell. I assume because its looking to validate based on the previously selected cell and if something different is entered the lookup "fails."

Thoughts?

Upvote 0
Smitty,

Thanks, that worked!! So simple sometimes you miss it completely. I would have spent a day before I noticed that tab.

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
cancansova

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.