Dependent Form Control

kevinh2320

Board Regular
On my MS Access Customer form I have a ComboBox called CustomerRequest. An option in the ComboBox is ACCOUNT SUSPENSION. On this same form I have a TextBox called PaymentFrequency with its Visible property set to No. I want the PaymentFrequency Textbox to become visible on the form when the Combox box is equal to ACCOUNT SUSPENSION. I'M new to vba and the code I wrote isn't doing anything.

Private Sub CustomerRequest_AfterUpdate()

If [CustomerRequest] = "ACCOUNT SUSPENSION" Then
[PaymentFrequency].Visible = True
End If

End Sub

Any help greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Start by putting a break at the start of this code, then switch to the form and update the combo. If the code is firing, it will stop at the break. Mouse over the words CustomerRequest and see what the value is when the help bubble pops up. Alternatively, insert a message box line right after the IF: (msgBox CustomerRequest and it will report the value. If your combo has more than one column, it is likely that the column with the value you're looking to compare isn't the bound column.

Upvote 0
I would be using the Me. prefix on your control names.?

Also are you using a table Lookup field for your combo?

Upvote 0
I've added the Me.prefix and that does display the PaymentFrequency textbox. However, Once the form is completed and I move on to the next blank form to enter a new record the hidden fields are still visible and will remain that way until I choose another option from the ComboBox. I'm sure this due to the code being fired on the AfterUpdate event. Not sure how to correct. I tried to correct by moving the code to the Form OnLoad event but that didn't work.

Also, For existing records with the ComboBox selection "ACCOUNT SUSPENSION " the hidden field don't display because they are on the AfterUpdate" event.