Determine connector on shape and move the connector-begin (or end)

mario1968

Hi everybody,

I would like to write a VBA for moving the begin or end of a connector to the next possible anchor on the connected shape (clockwise or anticlockise; this is not relevant ).
The user shoud click on the shape (not on the connector) and than (when the VBA is processed) the connector shold jump to the next possible anchor on the selected shape.

I googled many hours As I am new to VBA I wonder if this is possible?

Thanke, many regards
Mario

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
The following macro will move the anchor to the next higher one, so it will move it counter-clock wise. We can change it so it goes clock-wise, if you prefer. You'll need to change the name of the connector accordingly, and make sure that the connector is placed at the back of the z-order so that it doesn't interfere when clicking a shape. The macro must be placed in the code module for the sheet containing your shapes and connector. So right-click the sheet tab, select View Code, and paste your code there, in the code module for the sheet. Then, assign this macro to both your shapes.

Code:
[COLOR=darkblue]Option[/COLOR] [COLOR=darkblue]Explicit[/COLOR]

[COLOR=darkblue]Sub[/COLOR] NextConnectionSite()

[COLOR=darkblue]Dim[/COLOR] shpTarget [COLOR=darkblue]As[/COLOR] Shape
    [COLOR=darkblue]Dim[/COLOR] shpConnector [COLOR=darkblue]As[/COLOR] Shape
    [COLOR=darkblue]Dim[/COLOR] NewConnSite [COLOR=darkblue]As[/COLOR] [COLOR=darkblue]Long[/COLOR]

[COLOR=darkblue]Set[/COLOR] shpTarget = Me.Shapes(Application.Caller) [COLOR=green]'clicked shape[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=darkblue]Set[/COLOR] shpConnector = Me.Shapes("Straight Arrow Connector 1") 'connector (change the name accordingly)