#DIV/0!

ExcelRoy

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,457
Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
hello,

i have had a problem that you solved for me earlier in the week, i had the #n/a coming up with uncalculated formula in (looked unprofessional)

i used

=IF(ISNA(INDEX(Supplier!$C$5:$C$505,MATCH(B6,Supplier!$A$5:$A$505,0),0)),"",INDEX(Supplier!$C$5:$C$505,MATCH(B6,Supplier!$A$5:$A$505,0),0))

to get round problem

now i have same but with #DIV/0! coming up is there a way round this one

kind regards
 

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
hello,

i have had a problem that you solved for me earlier in the week, i had the #n/a coming up with uncalculated formula in (looked unprofessional)

i used

=IF(ISNA(INDEX(Supplier!$C$5:$C$505,MATCH(B6,Supplier!$A$5:$A$505,0),0)),"",INDEX(Supplier!$C$5:$C$505,MATCH(B6,Supplier!$A$5:$A$505,0),0))

to get round problem

now i have same but with #DIV/0! coming up is there a way round this one

kind regards

What is the formula that comes up with #DIV/0!?
 

ExcelRoy

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,457
Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
=SUM(C199*Supplier!I199)

a simple one compared to the last one

thanks
 

gaj104

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2002
Messages
864
Hi,

Use the iserror function

Code:
=IF(ISERROR(C199*Supplier!I199)="TRUE","",(C199*Supplier!I199))

Hope it helps
 

pgc01

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
19,884

ADVERTISEMENT

Hi ExcelRoy

Why the SUM?

You are just multiplying 2 cells.

=C199*Supplier!I199

Please explain
PGC
 

barry houdini

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
20,825
=SUM(C199*Supplier!I199)

You wouldn't normally expect to get a #DIV/0! error unless you're dividing by zero. I'm not sure how you get that from that formula unless either C199 or supplier!I199 contains a #DIV/0! error. If so you might want to try to prevent that.

If you have a formula like

=A1/B1 then to prevent #DIV/0! errors change to

=IF(B1,A1/B1,0) or similar

note: in the above formula the SUM is redundant, this formula would suffice

=C199*Supplier!I199
 

ExcelRoy

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,457
Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Thanks harry, my formula would read

=IF(G191,F191/G191,0)

thinks shows a value of 0 until i enter the criteria, than it calculates perfectly

But

can you add something to remove the 0, so that it looks more professional

too many 0's showing in a row
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,136,272
Messages
5,674,755
Members
419,525
Latest member
helensesc

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top