Don't know where to start with programming a button

BillyMo

I am a complete newbie to excel.

Is it possible to create a sheet that exports its data to a different worksheet which is printed and a different workbook for archival purposes?

I'll give the scenario:

I would like to enter a new customer's name, address, phone number, and item they bought into a sheet (B1:B4) and hopefully click a button.

I would then like it to export that data to the next available row (A2:D2, A3:D3, etc) on a different workbook so that I can archive all of my customers (getting it to fill the next row seems to be the biggest challenge for me so far) and also export the same data to sheet 2 of the original workbook.

Sheet 2 is organized as an index card to keep a hard copy in a tickler file and is printed.

After that, I hope it could clear the original cells so I can type the next customer's info. It would be a bonus if it would automatically print the card when I click said button, but that may be asking too much.

If someone could even tell me where to start I'd gladly do the research to formula's etc myself.

Thanks in advance.

Take care.

-Bill

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
Welcome to the Board!

Not hard at all, especially using a button!

Here's a macro (VBA Code) that will do it:

<font face=Tahoma><SPAN style="color:#00007F">Sub</SPAN> yada()
    <SPAN style="color:#00007F">Dim</SPAN> LastRow <SPAN style="color:#00007F">As</SPAN> Range
        <SPAN style="color:#00007F">Set</SPAN> LastRow = Sheets("Sheet2").Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp)

Sheets("Sheet1").Range("A2:D2").Copy LastRow.Offset(1)
<SPAN style="color:#00007F">End</SPAN> <SPAN style="color:#00007F">Sub</SPAN></FONT>

Just to try, open the VB (Editor) with Alt+F11, then goto Insert-->Module and paste that code in. ALT+Q to exit back to Excel.