drop down menu help

mwvirk

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
156
i have a drop down menu in my excel sheet and drop down contains around 18 items. but when i click on drop down menu button, its showing only few items.

is it possible to see all items in my drop down menu with and without using macro.
 

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times
Select a formatted range. Double-click the Format Painter (left side of Home tab). You can paste formatting multiple times. Esc to stop

Joneye

Well-known Member
Joined
May 28, 2010
Messages
757
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
And here to edit your list.


Data > Validation > Settings
and the source field will tell you where the list is. You can then edit
that list.
--
 

mwvirk

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
156
And here to edit your list.


Data > Validation > Settings
and the source field will tell you where the list is. You can then edit
that list.
--

appreciate if u can give simple reply here. my list is:=$F$240:$F$257
 

Joneye

Well-known Member
Joined
May 28, 2010
Messages
757
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS

ADVERTISEMENT

Sadly that does not help me much, do try reading the links and edit your list accordingly.
 

mwvirk

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
156
ok. i will look into this later.... but here if u can help me with 2 other problem.
1- in drop down menu, if have all letters in proper way.
like 'Apple' 'Orange'
if someone type 'apple' or 'ORANGE' then how to arrange these letters properly to 'Apple' 'Orange'

2- in cell a1 there is a pulldown menu with several options. i want help to to read it using if condition.
e.g. if someone select from puldown menu 'Apple' or 'Orange' then i want in cell a2 'Fruit' and if something is selecting from pulldown menu like 'Lady Finger' or 'Onion' then i want 'Vegetable' to be shown in cell a2
thnx
 

Joneye

Well-known Member
Joined
May 28, 2010
Messages
757
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Both those are answered in the link, its data validation using lists. Have a read but do the list with their data it will make sense how it works.

Any problems let me know.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,144,370
Messages
5,723,964
Members
422,529
Latest member
mbilal429

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top