Drop Down Menu (Just Back ground colours)

Gjdr

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2020
Messages
4
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I am wanting to create a drop down list so i can change the colours of the background of the cells only, not change the information that is in the cell. The reason for this is, i have a column with $$ values in them and we change the background colour of the cells( up to 6 colours) so we can determine what stage a project is at by the colour background. I understand how to make a drop down list using Data etc but this has beaten me. Any help would be appreciated.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Convert text numbers to real numbers
Select a column containing text numbers. Press Alt+D E F to quickly convert text to numbers. Faster than "Convert to Number"

Yongle

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
6,977
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
welcome to MrExcel

Not quite sure what you want
- but it can be achieved using conditional formatting

Does the dropdown cell contain a list of the 6 stages ?
Does the user select one of the 6 stages ?
Do you want to change the background colour of dropdown cell or a different cell in the same row ?
 

Gjdr

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2020
Messages
4
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Yongle

the drop down list could contain a list stages, Stage 1, Stage 2, Stage 3 etc. As an example if a user on the sheet clicked on a cell that had a $ figure in it, he could then choose the drop down list and click on any of the stages listed. Let say he picked stage 1, and the the back ground then change colour to the one we require it to, but not wipe out the $ figure in the same cell.
 

Yongle

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
6,977
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
... which column contains dropdown cell?
... which column contains cell where background colour must change based on value selected from dropdown?
 

Gjdr

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2020
Messages
4
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

hyper thetically say the column i am using is M3 down to M100, this column has all the $ values in it. It is the same column that i want the back ground to change but keep the $ value
 

Yongle

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
6,977
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
You answered only one question.
 

Yongle

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
6,977
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Select cells M3:M100 and set up 6 conditional formatting rules - one for each stage

cf209.jpg



Book1
LM
2Dropdown$Values
3A39.39
4B52.52
5C65.65
6D78.78
7E91.91
8F105.04
Sheet15
Cells with Conditional Formatting
CellConditionCell FormatStop If True
M3:M100Expression=L3="F"textNO
M3:M100Expression=L3="E"textNO
M3:M100Expression=L3="D"textNO
M3:M100Expression=L3="C"textNO
M3:M100Expression=L3="B"textNO
M3:M100Expression=L3="A"textNO
Cells with Data Validation
CellAllowCriteria
L3:L8ListA,B,C,D,E,F
 

Gjdr

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2020
Messages
4
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
thanks Yongle

i will try and have a crack at this on the weekend
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,127,118
Messages
5,622,831
Members
415,934
Latest member
adstocking

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top