dinkss

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

I'm new to VBA and Excel. I'm trying to write formula or VBA code to be able to get EXCEL to automatically enter WORK SHIFT based on time when data was selected from dropdown list.
I have created dropdown list but now I want EXCEL to enter WORK SHIFT automatically when I select any options from dropdown list no matter what time it will be. I want excel to know if I select data at 10:00:00 that this is Day Shift and if I select Data at 19:00:00 that this is Evening Shift.

My dropdown menu is in Cells J:J and I want excel to automatically enter work shift in K:K based on time when I select information from my dropdown list.

I have attached screenshot of my worksheet.

Please help me, it is really important for me!
01.png

Thanks for help!

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result
You'll need VBA to do this.

Open a copy of your workbook. Right click on the sheet tab with your dropdowns and select View Code. On the sheet that opens, paste this code:

Rich (BB code):
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim part1 As String, part2 As String

If Intersect(Target, Range("J:J")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

part1 = IIf(Evaluate("WEEKDAY(TODAY(),2)") > 5, "WEEKEND - ", "")
    part2 = IIf(Evaluate("(MOD(NOW(),1)>8/24)*(MOD(NOW(),1)<20/24)"), "DAYS", "NIGHTS")

Target.Offset(, 1) = part1 & part2

End Sub

Close the VBA editor. In column J, select something from a dropdown, and see if you get the result desired. This assumes Saturday and Sunday are weekend days, and your day shift is from 8 am to 8 pm. Those values are in red. We can adjust the values if this doesn't match your actual shift times.

Upvote 0
You'll need VBA to do this.

Open a copy of your workbook. Right click on the sheet tab with your dropdowns and select View Code. On the sheet that opens, paste this code: