Dynamic cell reference error in VBA

hannahcw

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm fairly new to VBA, so forgive my obvious beginner's errors. I'm looking to create a macro that will return a formula reference to a cell in another sheet. I have the below code. It almost does what I want, but it returns the following: =@'Jobs and pricing info'!'E9' and the next one =@'Jobs and pricing info'!'E10' and so on. I don't understand why there's an @ at the beginning and why it puts the single quotes around the E9. Please help!

Sub LinkCells()

Sheets("Direct Labor").Select
Range("E122").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "='Jobs and pricing info'!E9"
ActiveCell.Offset(145).Select

Dim x As Integer
For x = 1 To 199
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "='Jobs and pricing info'!E" & (9 + x)
ActiveCell.Offset(145).Select
Next x
End Sub

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Hi hannahcw,

maybe

VBA Code:
Sub LinkCells()
'https://www.mrexcel.com/board/threads/dynamic-cell-reference-error-in-vba.1230493/Dim lngCnt As Long

For lngCnt = 0 To 199
  Sheets("Direct Labor").Cells(122 + lngCnt * 145, "E").Formula = "='Jobs and pricing info'!E" & 9 + lngCnt
Next lngCnt

End Sub

Ciao,
Holger

Upvote 0
Hi hannahcw,

maybe

VBA Code:
Sub LinkCells()
'https://www.mrexcel.com/board/threads/dynamic-cell-reference-error-in-vba.1230493/Dim lngCnt As Long

For lngCnt = 0 To 199
  Sheets("Direct Labor").Cells(122 + lngCnt * 145, "E").Formula = "='Jobs and pricing info'!E" & 9 + lngCnt
Next lngCnt

End Sub

Ciao,
Holger
That is much shorter than what I had and I'm not sure I entirely understand how it works, but it does. I'll read up on it. Thanks so much!

Upvote 0
Hi Hannah,