Dynamic Column Selection and Insertion

damian557

Hello,

I am new to macros and VBA so I apologize for my poor explanations. The issue is that the spread sheet I'm working with has dates which are incorrectly read and filtered improperly. When I go to filter the dates, it lists every single date in the column instead of by year, month, and then day. The way to fix it is listed below but I would like to automate this process using a macro. I have listed a TL;DR version first and a more detailed explanation second. Thanks for all the help.

TL;DR version:

1.) Parse through row 1 and find the string "date"
2.) Copy the entire column
3.) Insert a new column after the copied column
4.) Paste as special, paste "Add" into the new column
5.) Select the new column
6.) Reformat the cells as "Date"
7.) Copy the header from the original column into the new column
8.) Delete the original column's data and shift the new columns information into the original column
9.) Repeat until it reaches the end of row 1
OPTIONAL - 10) Copy all of the contents and move them to a new spread sheet in the same work book

Detailed version: