Efficiency Tidy up question

masplin

I started learning PP with a massive project that continues to grow. Despite a 64bit OS and Office and tons of RAM I often find it just crashes or takes forever to update the PP tables. I suspect this is partially caused by the simplictic way I have built up my many PP columns and measures so planning an overhaul. Before I do so I want some advice on whether it is like to be really effective. I have about 100,000 items in one table and 30,000 in another and bunch of smaller ones.

1. in order to follow the calculations as I built them up and spot errors I have say 3 columns in my PP table
Column1 = A-B
Column2 = C/D
Column3= Column1*Column2

I could replace this with Column3=(A-B)*(C/D)

Some of these will be using long related or filter functions. Will this make much difference or is it the same amount of computation?

2. I may be able to remove some of my calcualted columns in PP and create a measure in the Pivot Table instead. As I understand it this measure would only be calculated for the pivot table in question. I'm guessing that if a measure is used in many pivot tables it may be more efficient to create it as calculated column in PP, whereas if it only appears once it may be better as a pivot table measure. Again am I going gain much by moving from PP column to pivot table measure?

Obviously going to be a painful exercise doing all this and don't want to undertake it if no real upside.

Thanks for any advice

Mike

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.