ERP in MS Excel needs to be upgraded to something better

raviarao68

Hello fellow excel enthusiasts,
This is my first post as I am a new joiner - although i am now wondering what took me so long...!
I have been playing around with excel for the last 20 odd years and self taught myself whatever I needed to make it work.
I have developed and implemented a pretty intensive MS Excel ERP for my own Manufacturing small business enterprise.
It consists of storing information in various workbooks ( Data ) and using another set of workbooks with formulas to manipulate the Data to yield results and calculations. Over the years, it has done a wonderful job although one has to take certain precautions during its use.I have even invested in a good enterprise grade Server with multiple SSD's and huge RAM (256 GB ) with nComputing thin clients, to support about 10 users. Even then the files are slow and I am beginning to feel that the time has come to move to something better.
But I am loathe to get a custom ERP built since that would mean giving up on the ' Freedom ' that our entire team experiences in using Excel as their daily tool, which they can customize at will and trouble shoot themselves !
However, we are thinking that we may learn Access on our own and try to improve the existing system - I need some ideas on the above from the knowledgeable community out here - Can any of you suggest something to help us move on ?
I am also wondering how can one make all the ' Outputs ' like Deliver Challans, Invoices, Test Certificates, - Access cant make them...
How can we get results which we just use a simple Filter to get now...?
I have made maximum use of the VLOOKUP function in my ERP - that gives so many results if all the tables are structured properly - I would be lost in a new environment...
Please throw any ideas that you feel may be useful !
Thanks in Advance !
Will be happy to provide more clarifications if needed.

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?