Carlit007

Office Version
  1. 2019
  2. 2016
  3. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hi I am totally new to Ms access and apparently I have been using the wrong application(Excel) to build my databases lol better late then never
so far I have learned the basics of creating both tables and form but am having issues when importing new data.

I am trying to import new data from an excel report to an existing table called tblMyProperty the issue I am having when using the import wizard is that the headers in the excel report contains a “.” At the end which I guess is a no no for access tables

unfortunately the report that I have to import frequently has headers such as;

Admin no.
serial No.

note: I have created all my fields in my access tables to match the data that gets imported from excel what I'm trying to avoid is having to manually remove illegal characters from the excel heathers file every time.

I would like to know if by using vba I could make a button in a form that lets me import data with a file open dialog that lets me choose the file to import and to what table to import to.
and upon import it clears any ilegal character from the excel headers so that it gets properly imported into the right field

thanks in advance

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
Instead of importing your Excel Data, I suggest you link your excel table to Access.

Upvote 0
Instead of importing your Excel Data, I suggest you link your excel table to Access.

Hi just curious how is this a better solution? I don't know if it helps but what I am trying to do is build database for equipment that I constantly have to conduct inventory of.
the excel files that I have to constantly import (once a week) may or may not have new equipment added to it everything is tracked by serial number (key)