Error in simple operation in new calculated field

gifariz

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am new in Access (and not currently planning to go deep).
I want to do simple operation in new calculated field: (1) combine two text fields with "__" delimiter, and (2) multiply/divide numberic field with a value.
Then, I will save the Access and load it to Excel as a Pivot.

I saw this video by microsoft to do that: Video: Use the Calculated data type to combine fields - Microsoft Support
When I try that, and also the division operation similarly, I got this error "Verify that expression '[OutputCase] + "__" + [Joint]' (or '[U3] / 3.86') includes fields that exist in the current table":
1677039930160.png
1677039946768.png

What did I miss?
TIA

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Where are you trying to do this calculation? Directly in the table, or in a query?
While newer versions of Excel allow you to do calculated fields right at the table level, there are a bunch of limitations (i.e. I don't believe you are allowed to reference other fields).
Having calculated fields at the table level isn't really a good idea. It violates the rules of normalization (not good database design). It is much better to do it at the query level.
And you can really use queries for just about anything that you would use tables for, so there is no issue there.

Upvote 0
Solution
Where are you trying to do this calculation? Directly in the table, or in a query?
While newer versions of Excel allow you to do calculated fields right at the table level, there are a bunch of limitations (i.e. I don't believe you are allowed to reference other fields).
Having calculated fields at the table level isn't really a good idea. It violates the rules of normalization (not good database design). It is much better to do it at the query level.