Excel 03 - Stocktaking theory questions

titaniumbean

Hi guys i'm an excel newbie, I have experience coding and with the basics of excel. I am looking to update a very basic spreadsheet stocktake system. The current version is very limited.

What we have-

1 workbook, multiple worksheets each of which is a stocktake for a different month (1 sheet being a blank template) and in each sheet is a list of possible stocks/types with a quantity field.

What I want to get to-

* I preferably want a userform entry system to put the data into the sheets with the user not being able to see all the data (as they are doing it);

* a summary page on which you can select the month you are interested in and it looks up all the fields in the list which have figures entered in the quantity field and displays them on the first page you view ie a summary page.

*i'd also like to be able to create charts comparing the different months stocks for each item.

-----------------------------------------------------

My main questions are how should I go about doing this?
What sort of functions will I be needing to use at each stage?
What important things should I remember that will stop me from making annoying and costly mistakes?
How can I make sure it will be future proof?
How hard would it be to have a form as the first page with buttons that direct you around the spreadhseet eg enter data, review a month, chart stock x's progress etc

I know this is a very vague and far reaching post, so i'll be grateful for all views/responses. Thanks in advance.

Bean

:eek:

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Want you want is an application.