Excel 2003 - Skipping Blank Cell Comparisons

Toonami Fan

I have a master table of values that I am using to compare experimental data against. The experimental data has some blank values which must stay in the data set but must not be compared against the master table. There are 286 rows of 13 cells (which only contain 10 cells and 3 blank cells as combinations) which must be compared against the master table of 1 row of 13 cells (no blanks here).

Basic Example

A1 = 12
B1 = 2
C1 = 5
D1 = 3

A5 = 12
B5 = 2
C5 = [Blank cell]
D5 = 3

Using the formula given below, I get 0's (false) for the statement. What I need the formula to do is skip the C1 to C5 comparison completely and move to the D1 to D5 comparison. The statement should be true because all non-blank cells matched. The blank cell is not included.

Formula
=IF(AND(B$3=B12, C$3=C12, D$3=D12, E$3=E12, F$3=F12, G$3=G12, H$3=H12, I$3=I12, J$3=J12,K$3=K12),1,0)

Actual Example (same concept as basic example)
Cells B3 to K3 is one row in the master table. Cells B12 to K12 is one row in the experimental table that must be compared to the master table. Some of the B12:K12 cells are blank. Using this equation, those blanks are causing the answer to be 0 instead of 1 (all non-blank cells are matching).

How can I alter this formula to skip comparing blank cells and to move to the next cell comparison?

Last edited:

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
How about this:
=IF(SUMPRODUCT((B3:K3=B12:K12)+(B12:K12=""))=COUNT(B3:K3),1,0)

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Now would this formula work on commas between two numbers in a cell? Both tables would have the same value but commas are involved. I am getting a 0 for this comparison.

But thanks, the formula does work for simple numbers.

Upvote 0