Excel 2007 function name translations

ipex21

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
2
Hi,

for people using their Excel in other languages than English - Excel 2007 functions and their descriptions in 14 languages:

http://www.piuha.fi/excel-function-name-translation/

Why? I needed an updated look-up table because at home I'm using my Excel 2007 in Finnish and I don't have a English Language Pack. I noticed that most of the function dictionaries are quite old (Excel 4.0/97) and first I compiled a Finnish-English-Finnish -dictionary from Microsoft's function reference.

Then it got out of hand and I added 12 other languages :) Freely available to view or download if you like.
 

Greg Truby

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
9,999
ipex,

Welcome to the board. That is most interesting. Thank you.

To all: the languages available are:

Czech (čeština)
Danish (dansk)
Dutch (nederlands)
Finnish (suomi)
French (français)
German (deutsch)
Hungarian (magyar)
Italian (italiano)
Norwegian (norsk)
Polish (język polski)
Portuguese (português)
Spanish (español)
Swedish (svenska)

I am interested to learn what process you used to pull this info from Excel. Did you create a template with all of the functions and then switch the operating system language settings?
 

cgcamal

Active Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
472
Hi Greg, how do you do?


A small contribution that I think it would work within Excel in any language. It´s not general,
but it has worked for me so far.

Due I use Office 2007-Spanish version, sometimes looking to solve some problems I´ve found on
the internet formulas related with what I looking for, but in English. The thing is that sometimes
I don´t know what would be the correct function to use in the Excel´s Spanish version, so what
I´ve done before to translate is write a small VBA code with the function to execute in any cell,
then I run the code and when I get back to the Excel sheet I can see the result of the function
written in VBA but with the name in Spanish.

In VBA mode F2-->Application-->Worksheet.Function-->Function wanted

A little example below:

Code in english
Rich (BB code):
Sub Translate_Functions()
 
    Range("A1").Formula = "=RAND()"
    Range("A2").Formula = "=SUM(1, 2)"
 
End Sub
Result in sheet (now in Spanish)

In A1-->fx=ALEATORIO()
In A2-->fx=SUMA(1,2)

Best regards.
 

Greg Truby

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
9,999
¡Gracias César! :) Había visto a Héctor Miguel usar ese truco un par de veces. Pero no lo memoricé y por solo correr Excel en inglés no tenía como experimentar para tratar de descubrirlo yo cómo era exactamente.

EDIT - César threw me off -- I forgot we were running this thread in English. I'd seen this trick done by Hector Miguel, but didn't memorize which way it went. Type English in cell and inquire in VB editor or vice-versa? And since I only use Excel in English, I didn't have any means of playing around and discovering it on my own.

Saludos,
 
Last edited:

ipex21

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Messages
2
Nice tip, Carlos! One week ago another Carlos from Brazil sent me an email that also Brazilian Portuguese has many function names that differ from Portuguese from Portugal :)

I have added Brazilian Portuguese to the Excel function dictionary.
 

yytsunamiyy

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
963
I while ago I made a quick and dirty '07 add-in to translate between local language setting and English for my own use. A tiny bit of work - mainly adding a commandbar - will make it suitable for '03 and earlier. Anyone interested pop me a PM with your mail and I'll have it over.
 

junychri

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
1
I accept: Due I use Office 2007-Spanish version, sometimes looking to solve some problems I´ve found on
the internet formulas related with what I looking for, but in English. The thing is that sometimes
I don´t know what would be the correct function to use in the Excel´s Spanish version, so what
I´ve done before to translate is write a small VBA code with the function to execute in any cell,
then I run the code and when I get back to the Excel sheet I can see the result of the function
written in VBA but with the name in Spanish.

In VBA mode F2-->Application-->Worksheet.Function-->Function wanted
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input *******="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,096
Messages
5,363,121
Members
400,719
Latest member
Oliver12

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top