Excel: 2007 // Question: Is It Possible to Set an Animated Gif as a Worksheet Background and If So How?

Eli Kent

Greetings all,

Introduction: This is my first post here and I doubt it will be my last as I am trying to take my Excel knowledge and abilities to another level and I feel that I will at least occasionally not find the answers I seek anywhere else (as I try to help myself first) and thus will probably have to return here a few more times.

I am no expert on Excel and I never went to school for it so I may not understand all terminology and most of what I do is probably being done in a far more complicated manner than it should (especially given I have NO knowledge of VBA whatsoever so any answers involving this need to be dumbed down for me and very specific) but it works so far and I only share this background so you know what kind of a mess you'll be dealing with if you're ever so kind and/or bold enough to attempt to help me out from time to time.

Explanation: Recently I decided that for a particular project I am working on that I wanted to add a background to the worksheet. I figured it out (wasn't hard since there's literally a button that said "Add Background" on the Page Layout Tab of the ribbon I think it is called so even I could figure it out lol) and I was very pleased with my new found "power" and proceeded to look for something to replace my test image with.

I'm pretty decent with Photoshop and ImageReady7 and I already had an idea as to what I wanted my image to do. I created and image which is a pair of eyes sort of blended in to a surrounding that blink. So I go through the steps to make the animated and optimized gif my background only to discover the eyes do not blink in Excel.