Excel 2010 Macros

Robert Drummond

I am a beginner with Macros for Excel. I want to create a Macro to hide rows in a spread-sheet if there is a blank in column 7. I found the following Macro on a website that did this which I think I have correctly entered.

Sub HURows()
BeginRow = 3
EndRow = 416
ChkCol = 7

For RowCnt = BeginRow To EndRow
If Cells(RowCnt, ChkCol).Value = “” Then
Cells(RowCnt, ChkCol).EntireRow.Hidden = True
Else
Cells(RowCnt, ChkCol).WntireRow.Hidden = False
End If
Next RowCnt
End Sub

It wont work. I have the workbook in Macro enabled form but when I click Developer, Macro, Run I get the message "Object doesn't support this property or method". I have tried changing the "" blank to a number as the column has currency amounts in it.

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Hi Robert,

You are nearly there with your macro. The error is due to the fact that you haven't declared your variables (BeginRow, EndRow and ChkCol) quite correctly - you need to precede each variable with either the DIM or CONST keyword (DIM indicating that the following word is a variable, and CONST indicating a constant value - ie one which never changes). In your example, either could be used, although I feel CONST would be better.

So the re-written macro code would be (changes highlighted in red):

Code:
[COLOR=#333333]Sub HURows()[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#ff0000]CONST BeginRow = 3
CONST EndRow = 416
CONST ChkCol = 7[/COLOR]

[COLOR=#333333]For RowCnt = BeginRow To EndRow[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]  If Cells(RowCnt, ChkCol).Value = “” Then[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]    Cells(RowCnt, ChkCol).EntireRow.Hidden = True[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]  Else[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]    Cells(RowCnt, ChkCol).EntireRow.Hidden = False[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]  End If[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]Next RowCnt[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#333333]
End Sub
[/COLOR]