Excel application flashing before hiding when using Application.Visible propety

Shameem Khan

Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
I am trying to open a Userform without opening excel application. After some searching, I found the codes to do that. It is working fine, however the Excel window always opens before it hides. Is there anyway to avoid flashing of the excel window so that only the userform shows up and nothing else. I have set the following code inside ThisWorkbook object in Excel VBA.

Private Sub Workbook_open()
Application.Visible = False
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Uf_Randomizer.Show vbModeless
End Sub

Please help, Thanks in advance.

P.S- I am new to this

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)
TTBOMK, you will need to create a launcher such as a script file or exe. Before going that far, create a shortcut to your document and select Minimized for the Run option. Maybe that will do...

1596985581326.png

Upvote 0
Thanks @dataluver . Not actually what I was looking for, but Good Idea. And what did you mean by creating a launcher. Did you mean to create a batch file(.bat) file to open the excel file or is there any way to convert the excel file into exe file ? Just curious....

Upvote 0
Hi Shameem. In this example, the script file will be in the same folder as the workbook. When you fire up an instance of Excel as an automation server, the default is an invisible application instance. So it will never show unless you explicitly show it. As a side, there may be a command line argument that will work for you. That may be an option worth checking into.

There is an example of the following in this folder which contains a folder named Launch Invisible Instance which, in turn, contains the three files mentioned below. Download the folder as is.

Create a macro enabled workbook with UserForm1 containing this code:
VBA Code: