excel challenge

ssaifan

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
355
i have in cell A1 a pull down menu which i have made using the data validation
in excel......

the list is abt 1000 names.....in alphabetical order.......

if i want to see stock named .......star equity ...

i have to use the scroll down bar .....its a slow n log process as i have to go thru all the names.....

can some one tell me how to do the foll.............................
i just type "S" and i got the list where names from " S " start ....


sam
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.

daniels012

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
5,219
You can freeze the top row (2 rows) in your spreadsheet. Create Buttons with each letter of the alphabet. As long as your data is sorted properly, for each letter enter the cell to go to in the macro for eacbutton. If you need to know what to write in the macro. Write back.

Hope this helps,
Michael
 

Seti

Well-known Member
Joined
May 19, 2002
Messages
2,916
I think if you use a combo box(?) you get this feature, but not with data validation. NOt sure if the combo box needs to be on a form or not or which one it is that does that though. Sorry.
 

ssaifan

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2003
Messages
355

ADVERTISEMENT

micheal ...
thanks


pls tel me how to do that

what do u mean when u say freeze...is that freeze pane..
and whats the macro ?
 

gelder

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
8
For freeze pane: if you want to freeze column A, and Row 1, choose cell B2. Select Window, Freeze Panes. Now you will always see Column A and Row 1 when you scroll through your data.

Or, choose the column with your stock names by clicking on the column letter. Go to Edit, Find, and type in "Star Equity: in the find box. Make sure you select Search by Columns. Click the Find Next button and you are flying!

~Genoa
 

daniels012

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
5,219

ADVERTISEMENT

Yes freeze the pane so your buttons are always at the top of the page.
Let's assume your looking for the letter "C" . The first item with the letter C is in cell A12.
The Macro is
Code:
Sub Goto_S()
'
' Goto_C Macro
' Goes to the letter C
'
    Range("A12").Select
End Sub
Also when you add a button to your sheet, you can "record macro" as you go to enter each one.

You would have to update this as the list changes. I am sure there is a way to look up the first letter of the cell and take you directly there, maybe someone else can further the code, if you need it!

Michael

Hope this helps,
michael
 

daniels012

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
5,219
No problem, I will explain. What do you not understand? Code?? Creating buttons??
I don't know what you don't understand

Michael
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,556
Messages
5,596,820
Members
414,104
Latest member
imamalidadashzada

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top