Excel Data Base?

REDX

I've been working with access for about 7 years now, I migrated from the old LOTUS days when you could make a pretty fair data base from a spread sheet, I really miss that.

My question is:

Is there anyway to turn my excel spreadsheet into a one stop shop? I'm tired of having to manipulate formula's thru excel and then import to access to use the data base functions.

I would love to be able to bring up a form that would querry my spreadsheet. The current form option is very limited and will not except my rather larger spreadsheet (37 columns).

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.
Welcome to the board.

It depends on what sort of summary you need, whether there are calculations required, and how complicated the query needs to be.

I think these will be a bit basic for you if you have access experience but I would suggest:

1. Using autofilter for information only queries
2. A pivot table if calculations are needed
3. Using the D formulas.

Post back if you are not sure about any of these suggestions or why they wouldn't work.

Upvote 0
Thanks Just_Jon, office 12 sounds great so far.

gingerafro, I've never heard of "D" formulas and tried pivot tables years ago without success.

It would be nice to view my records on on form...I have a spreadsheet that is 37 cloumns wide and 7K deep.

Do I need to learn VBA to make this form? The only VBA I've ever played with is from recorded macro's that I manipulate.

If VBA is needed is there a crash course to get there?

Upvote 0
REDX said:
Thanks Just_Jon, office 12 sounds great so far.

gingerafro, I've never heard of "D" formulas and tried pivot tables years ago without success.

It would be nice to view my records on on form...I have a spreadsheet that is 37 cloumns wide and 7K deep.