EXCEL Formula Help Required

Karen2403

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi - I have 4 formulas that work separately but when I try to make it in to one formula, I keep getting an error message - can anyone help please? I am quite new to these detailed formulas so really not sure where I am going wrong.

C3 is a drop down box where the user will select either CD, ED, EM, MM, SEE, SE, SPE or ST, and then depending on what is selected will return the matching name from the relevant column where there is not a blank (I hope I have explained this correctly).

=IF(C3="CD", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2))),IF(C3="ED", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date2]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2)))))

=IF(C3="EM", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date3]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2))),IF(C3="MM", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date4]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2)))))

=IF(C3="SEE", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date5]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2))),IF(C3="SE", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date6]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2)))))

=IF(C3="SPE", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date7]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2))),IF(C3="ST", INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],SMALL(IF(Employee_Data[Date8]<>"",ROW(Employee_Data[Full Name])-ROW(INDEX(Employee_Data[Full Name],1,1))+1), ROWS($E$2:E2)))))

Many Thanks

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times