Excel Macro Code to select Print Selection.

MarcGib

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all, Im very new to using Macros in Excel and was wondering if somebody could help me with coding to achieve automation of my printer function.
1676540125255.png

Thus far I have managed to print the required info to my GX430t label printer, using the above code, however, I have no idea how to auto select in SETTINGS "Print Selection" Only print the current selection"

1676540296214.png

Thank you.

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
VBA Code:
Sub PrintTheSelectedArea()
    Selection.PrintOut Copies:=1
End Sub

Upvote 0
Hi Frabulator, thank you for the code. When running the code, will that bypass our default Printer setting of "Only print the active sheets" and select "Only print the current selection"?

1676541545678.png

Before our process involved populating the required data, Opening PRINT PREVIEW, selecting ZDesigner GX430t and then selecting "Only print the current selection" and then finaly Printing the label.

1676542212894.png

thanks

Upvote 0
will that bypass our default Printer setting of "Only print the active sheets" and select "Only print the current selection"?

The code I posted above will only print the selected using the default settings. You can only have something selected on the active sheet, so yes, it will only print the active sheet and yes it will only print the current selection.

Opening PRINT PREVIEW, selecting ZDesigner GX430t and then selecting "Only print the current selection" and then finaly Printing the label.

All of that can be automated. Please read here.

In my example I include the copies needed. You can include any variable/amount of variables you want or need.

expression.PrintOut (From, To, Copies, Preview, ActivePrinter, PrintToFile, Collate, PrToFileName)