Excel Shortcut Key for Name Box

FlowerGirl

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
6
I would like to be able to capture the cell address in the Name Box and use it as the beginning address of a range I want to copy. How do I get to the Name Box to copy that information?
 

FlowerGirl

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
6
I do not know how to do macros. What I want to do is program the shortcut key strokes into an AutoMate program.
 

bk

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
387
Hey Flower Girl, what about the CELL formula?

I'm not totally sure I understand what you want, is that on the right path?
 

FlowerGirl

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
6
bk,
That would work if I knew how to refer to the Name Box. =Cell(Name Box) doesn't work. As soon as I type = in a cell, the Name Box changes to SUM and if I click on it, I get the Function Arguments dialog box.
 

bk

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
387
Can you give some example data?

Exactly what's in a sample cell.

Exactly what you want to capture.

And what you mean by "capture"? Capture where, to do what with next

Also what do you mean by "name box", the little place where it puts the named range, cell reference or whatever that's active? Usually in upper left corner above A1?

Pardon me for being a little slow, but I can actually be useful sometimes :) once I grasp what somebody's wanting.
 

FlowerGirl

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
6
bk, yes, the "cell" that is directly above A1. What I want to do is:
Ctrl+F a specific text string. The cell number of that text string in now in the Name Box. Then, I want to be able to go to the Name Box and copy (capture) that cell address (for example: M72) so I can later use it as the beginning address of a range of data I want to copy.
Did that make sense?
 

bk

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
387
It made a little more.

The "name box" is nothing more than the address/named-range of the active cell really. So, unless you are absolutely certain that you MUST have the name box, I think we can get you what you want a different way.

This can be done probably more than one way, but via a Macro that uses Target or ActiveCell would probably be the best.

So, assuming that "captures" it properly, what, when and how are you going to use it? That may influence exactly how we get it or what we do with it.
 

FlowerGirl

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
6
I think I may have a way to get the info I need. After I do my Find, I'm in the cell I want the address of. If I do =Column(), put that information into a variable, move right one cell, do Row(), put that infor into another variable, then do =Address(var1,var2) and put that into a third variable, I get an answer I can work with. I can then close without saving, open back up and goto the address in Var3. I can get the ending location the same way.
Did I mention I don't know how to do macros yet?
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,017
Messages
5,362,697
Members
400,686
Latest member
Aakash

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top