excel to acad

harajliali

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
2
I am generating data in excel,saving it as comma delimited(.csv)file. I then open the .csv file as a text file and then save it as a script file (.scr) to be invoked in Autocad that eventually draws lines. Is there a visual basic function that communicates between excel and Autocad to automate this process?. Thanks
 

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.

Damon Ostrander

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
4,239
Hi harajliali,

If AutoCAD is OLE-compliant (I suspect it is, but don't know for sure) then you can easily pass data back and forth between it and Excel using Automation. I suggest you check the Excel VBA helps for the topic "Understanding Automation" (you have to be in the Visual Basic Editor to view these helps). There is probably a similar Automation topic in the AutoCAD help files to help you on that side. The key will be finding out about the AutoCAD object model. On the Excel side the object model is thoroughly documented in the VBA helps.

If Automation is not available then I suggest you look into using DDE. You can also research that in the helps.

Damon
 

sueandco

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
31
Hi,
I have some code that is supposed to connect autocad to excel. But I could not get it to work (to difficult for me) if you want it reply to message.
DDE does not work with latest autocad.
I am trying to draw from excel it works pretty well although i use results from calcualtions to make a .scr file, which is then read by Autocad.
Hope this helps
Sue
 

sueandco

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
31
Hi,
I have some code that is supposed to connect autocad to excel. But I could not get it to work (to difficult for me) if you want it reply to message.
DDE does not work with latest autocad.
I am trying to draw from excel it works pretty well although i use results from calcualtions to make a .scr file, which is then read by Autocad.
Hope this helps
Sue
 

Mala

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 4, 2002
Messages
627
AutoCad 2000 and above supports VBA in addition to AutoLisp. You can use CreateObject (for Excel) in an AutoCAD VBA module and have it communicate directly with Excel objects. This can be used to generate drawings automatically.
See a sample and description on the section titled 'XL-AutoCad Integration'
at the bottom of:
http://www.mrexcel.com/graphics.shtml

_________________
Mala Singh
MrExcel Graphics & Engineering Division
This message was edited by Mala on 2002-10-31 08:21
 

harajliali

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
2
can you send me the code you have. I can communicate with autocad to the extent of opening the file. I am trying to pass commands to acad. That is what I need to complete the tas.
Thanks
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,143,915
Messages
5,721,520
Members
422,369
Latest member
redinator

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top