Excel VBA: Click javascript anchor on webpage through IE and save generated file

JLaps

Greetings,

I've been reading this forum for a couple years now, but this is my first time posting a question. As they say on the radio call-in shows, "First-time, Long-time."
While I've grown leaps and bounds in my general excel macro writing, I am just beginning to delve into automating Internet Explorer through excel vba. I've spent many hours now trying to find the exact solution to what I'm trying to do, and I've hit a bit of a wall (perhaps I'm just not searching for the right question).

Windows version: Windows 7
Excel version: Excel 2013

Problem: I am attempting to download a file from a webpage using excel vba. The file is generated by clicking on a link which I believe runs some java script. I've figured out how to navigate to the page, and click the link. However at this point, it pops up a "Save Or Open file" box at the bottom of the page and I couldn't quite figure out how to get around this. i've seen multiple suggestions and code snippets, however none of them worked unless there was a direct URL link to the file.

Code:
Code:
Sub GetDat()

Dim IE As InternetExplorer
  Dim link As Object
  Dim LinkCount As Integer
  Dim state As Integer

Set IE = New InternetExplorer
    IE.Visible = True

IE.Navigate "http://www.fangraphs.com/leaders.aspx?pos=all&stats=bat&lg=all&qual=y&type=1&season=2013&month=13&season1=2013&ind=0&team=0&rost=0&age=0&filter=&players=0#custom"

LinkCount = 0
state = 0
Do Until state = 4
    DoEvents
    state = IE.ReadyState
Loop

For Each link In IE.Document.Links
   If link.innertext = "Export Data" Then
   IE.Document.Links(LinkCount).Click
  Exit For
   End If
   LinkCount = LinkCount + 1
Next link

End Sub

The HTML for the link itself is:

HTML:
<a id="LeaderBoard1_cmdCSV" href="javascript:__doPostBack('LeaderBoard1$cmdCSV','')">Export Data</a>