Excell model with a single input and multiple standard outputs

z3r0sUm

Dear All

I hope I don't get a kick from the mods for starting a new thread but couldn't really find what I was looking for by searching.

I am a petroleum economist modeling several assets of an oil major in the UK. Data for each asset is entered into a worksheet on the "Inputs.xls" workbook. Assets have interactions like cost-sharing and economic cut-off calculation which is the reason why they are bundled together in the same workbook. I call this stage A.

Outputs of stage A are then fed into a standard template that generates the financial and economic results of each asset as a separate excel workbook. Let's call this stage B.

I attached a schematic at the end of this post which shows how it works. The only part I haven't talked about is the Engine which is written in VB6 and does this:

1. Opens "Inputs" workbook
2. Goes to "Asset A" sheet
3. Looks at the list of variables needed for the "output template" to do the final calculation. The list is in a worksheet called "import" in "output template". Let's say "production", "price" and "cost" to make it simple.
4. Looks for those keywords in the first Column of "Asset A" sheet.
5. Reads the values in front of that keyword which is actually the forecast over next few years let's say next 20 years. So, 20 values for "production", "price" and "cost" each.
6. Copies those values in proper rows in "import" sheet in "output template"
7. Saves it as "Asset A Output".
8. Repeats the same for all other assets.

You must be asking what the hell is the question by now! :oops: Please bear with me for another paragraph. The engine has two problems. First, it is extremely slow. Second, it is a disconnection point between input and output and it should be run each time the input changes.

I am looking into replacing the engine with something faster and more resource-efficient.