Extra line that equals

MrDB4Excel

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
160
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a cell that I want to have an extra line (you know, created with the "alt" "enter" combo) that equals another cell in the same sheet. Is this possible and if so how?
Thank you so much for any help offered.:oops:
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.

pgc01

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
19,881
Hi

For ex., in B1:

="Second line is A1" & char(10) & A1

This will reproduce in the second line in B1 the value in A1.

Don't forget to format the cell with word wrap
 

MrDB4Excel

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
160
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
What is the "& char(10)" part for? I put this whole string what you sent in your reply, changed the A1 to the cell I want it to look to and it did not work, what am I missing?
Here is what I have in the cell.
Projected Pension USD from SSB in Safe Haven Converted to CZK
="Second line is I3" & char(10) & I3
I3 is text only and it says "Two months SSB Pension: April & May"
 

pgc01

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
19,881

ADVERTISEMENT

Maybe you forgot to set the "Wrap text" in the formatting of the cell?
 

MrDB4Excel

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
160
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
No, that was the first thing I checked, not to mention most of the time I use this as default because of the nature of the input
 

MrDB4Excel

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
160
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

Is this second line input supposed to actually be on a second line as result of the alt enter to get to the second line and therefore the "="Second line is I3" & char(10) & I3" would be the only data on second line?
 

Rick Rothstein

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
36,680
Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
No, that was the first thing I checked, not to mention most of the time I use this as default because of the nature of the input
Try making the row containing the formula taller (I think the text is there, but below the current bottom of the cell.
 

MrDB4Excel

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
160
Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows

Hope you can see this image, I made the row height a huge number and still nothing. Something must be wrong with formula maybe?:oops:
 

pgc01

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
19,881
Hi

Sorry, I don't know why it's not working.

The only thing that I can think of is that you'd have a mac, in that case the line separator would be CHAR(13) instead of CHAR(10), but since you say that you use Alt-Enter to enter the line separators that is probably not the case.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,517
Messages
5,596,620
Members
414,081
Latest member
Subaru_Steve

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top