Extracting specific data from one spread sheet, but editing the data at the same time, then repeating the process to a third one

PA_VA13

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi everyone! I just started learning VBA excel coding. VBA excel for dummies and tutorials have helped a lot but I am still stumped on how to create a macro to do everything in one go. Right now, it takes me about 1+ hours to manually transfer data even with the few formulas and codes that I have been able to create to assist. I need to make it auto populate as much as possible to not only reduce the amount of time involved but also so that my co-worker who covers me when I am away can do it, as she is not as tech savvy.

We get data from one of our instruments that we manually transfer into a spread sheet (“Case Load Report”; Fig.1). I need to pull specific data for my techs (highlighted in green in Fig. 2) and paste into another spread sheet (“HZ report”; Fig.3). After the data is double checked (sometimes there is no case pathologist provided) I then take specific data from that spread sheet (highlighted in blue Fig.4) and paste it into a third spread sheet for my pathologists (“Path Case Distribution”; Fig.5)

The 1st transfer process gets even more complex as I also need to auto edit the ID# data when it is transferred to the tech sheet (“HZ report”; Fig.3). Each case ID (Ex: SP-20-12345) has one or more parts to it represented after the “.” (Ex: part one = SP-20-12345.1; part two = SP-20-12345.2, etc.) with samples of each part represented by letters (Ex: SP-20-12345.1A; SP-20-33456.11.BC). I need to extract just the alpha characters after the “.” for each ID # (Ex: changing SP-20-3945.1A to SP-20-3945.1; SP-20-4008.1AB to Sp-20-4008.1) and then get a count of each duplicate in order to get a total block count for each part of the ID# to reduce the amount of paperwork as the original way is too much (Example of completed sheet Fig.6).