Filter Records in subform based on a combo box

hercule_p2001

Ok. I have gone through the questions on this subject but I am still unable to get my form working. Nothing happens. I'll explain.

I have a table Patients and a table FollowUp. PatientID is the PK which is a text. The FollowUp table has records of patients who visit me(I am a doctor). The PtName field in the FollowUp table is a lookup field which is a 2-column combo with Bound Column 1 but showing the 2nd column which makes more sense as I can read the Patient's name and select while filling up the details. What I need is to create a separate form which has a combo box populated with the list of patients from the Patients table(again this unbound combo box hides the ID column). A subForm is created from the followUp table. I need to select a name from the combo box and be able to see all the visits the patient has made to date. But filter doesn't work, recordset clone doesn't work. I am frustrated. Can anyone help me to sort this out?

This is the Row Source for the form:

SELECT FollowUp.ID, FollowUp.dDate, FollowUp.PtName, FollowUp.Diagnosis, FollowUp.F_Up_After, FollowUp.F_Up_Date, FollowUp.FUpsOnTheDay, FollowUp.Notes, FollowUp.LMP, FollowUp.FurtherManagement, FollowUp.F_Up_NotPrecise FROM FollowUp;

The FollowUp table has essentially the same fields. PtName is a lookUp field as I said before.

The Patients Table has 2 fields:
PatientID
PatientName

I am using Access 2010.

Thanks.

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
In design view on the form, click the subform ONCE and immediately go to the Properties window.
In the Data tab, you should see Master and Child fields. Make sure that the Master field is PtName, and the Child field is PatientID.
The other thing is that those 2 combos MUST be bound. Then, when you switch to a new FollowUp record the subform will sync with the corresponding patient.