Financial model - workbooks vs worksheets

shakethingsup

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi - I've recently joined a company. We won't be able to implement any robust budgeting and planning tool so we are in excel. There is an extremely tight deadline and I'm just beginning to learn my predecessors excel financial models. from the existing files, I see 5 or 6 workbooks with about 50-60 worksheets across them (maybe more as I think some are hidden). Some more background: 1 consolidated entity, 3 divisions comprised of 10 separate legal entities, assumptions for headcount and other line items, sensitivity analysis is required.

I hope in the next 12-15 months we are able to implement a new ERP and budgeting and modeling tool.

My questions are:
  1. is it better to have multiple workbooks or house everything in worksheets?
  2. is there a maximum number worksheets?
  3. what else would come to your mind with structuring this? or what advice can you provide? or what resources/websites could you recommend?
  4. what more information can I provide to you gurus?
Please and thanks!

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
Lots of assumptions in the following, so look at this with an open mind.

1) Assume moving to database and querying is not available due to the tight time deadlines.
2) Multiple workbooks vs worksheets is dependent upon data amounts and any need for protection (e.g. managers do not have access to departments not under their purview, etc.). Multiple worksheets in one workbook (or one per division) would be better for a basic refactoring.

Above all, separate data from primary calculations from reporting. Input >> Black Box >> Output (though the calcs need not be a black box). If you can, get the data in one data dump, or have the ability to append to existing data.