Finding cases where client depart date and reentry date are less than 28 days apart

giles

Board Regular
I have the task of finding a way to find cases amongst 1,000s of clients where:
a) the client has entered the system and been closed; and
b) reentered the system again within 28 days of the last closure.

Being a novice I used sumproduct which counts clients ebtween 2 nominated dates but I cant figure out how to identify only those who renetered within a given timeframe - say 28 days.

Can Excel achieve this?

(I can't figure out how to attach a file! Sorry)

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
if you have the results then you could use that column of cells to do a conditional format of any that are <= 28

for example

Excel 2003
ABCD
1NameEnterRe-enter# of Days
2Client A4/2/20125/31/201259
3Client B5/7/20125/25/201218
4Client D6/14/20127/25/201241
5Client Z1/15/20124/25/2012101

<COLGROUP><COL><COL><COL><COL><COL></COLGROUP><THEAD>
</THEAD><TBODY>
</TBODY>
Sheet2

Worksheet Formulas
CellFormula
D2=+C2-B2
D3=+C3-B3
D4=+C4-B4
D5=+C5-B5

<THEAD>
</THEAD><TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

then setup the conditional format as a formula is =$D2<=28

Upvote 0
Thank You Teasalynn

I understand your suggestion using conditional formating; that woudl identify those cases where te length of stay is less than 28 days for each case evealuated individually.

MY challenge is for a population of clients who may enter and leave multiple times finding those clients who reenter teh servcie less than 28 days since their last departure.

The datafile will have about 6,000 records.

I have used sumproduct that to give me the number of cases between two given dates; but i can't figure out how to have a formula able to count those cases where there has been a reenter less than 28 days sincetheir last departure.

any suggestions welcomed

Regards

Giles