Finding Row Index based on Vlookup

huntlake

I have a spreadsheet that was designed to increment the value of a cell by 1 each time a button is clicked.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p> </o:p>
I’m pretty handy with Excel, but when it comes to VB, I’m a novice.
<o:p> </o:p>
Essentially, my columns are Item, Value (this is the cell that needs to be updated), List Number, and Row Number.
The old code looks like this:
Private Sub CommandButton13_Click()
a = Sheet1.Cells(198, 2)
b = a + 1
Sheet1.Cells(198, 2) = b
End Sub
The user wants to be able to sort the data on the sheet, and of course, once sorted, the updates don’t cascade to the code, so my idea was to create a secondary sheet that would hold the data (and always stay in a particular order), and then have the first sheet point to that one. That way, when the sort order is changed, it won’t affect where the code points. Easy stuff, right?
The user also wants to be able to have some combo boxes drive where the value is stored. Also, they occasionally need to be able to add new items. I want to make this process simple so that the user doesn’t have to change the code when they add a new item. So, I named the input range for the combo box. That way, when they need to add new items, all they have to do is change the reference of the named range. I created a combo box, and am having VB lookup the value of the item selected in the named range and choose the value of the row to be updated.
The new code looks like this:
Private Sub CommandButton14_Click()
LookupVal = Sheet2.Range("F11") ‘This is where the value is stored from the Combo box
RowNum = WorksheetFunction.VLookup(LookupVal, Worksheets("Button Sheet").Range("name_of_range").Offset(0, 3), 2, False) ‘I used an offset here because I wanted to be able to have the Combo Box display the Item names vs. the List Number that I wanted to use in the Vlookup
a = Sheet2.Cells(RowNum, 2)
b = a + 1