Formatting not working

Allan Paterson

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
8
Hi,

I've been given data in an Excel spreadsheet downloaded from our ERP system (INFOR System 21, formerly GEAC) into Access and then outputted into Excel.

Now the formatting (right click, choose Format Cells) doesn't work?

So I can't highlight the data that needs to be worked on?

Any ideas?

Thanks.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832

ADVERTISEMENT

Now the formatting (right click, choose Format Cells) doesn't work?
"doesn't work" can mean a lot of things
please describe your problem:
is the option greyed out or is the format just not working as expected ?
 

Allan Paterson

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
8
Formatting doesn't work

Hi,

Sorry I meant when you right click and get the option "Format Cells" and you then click on it, instead of getting the format box you get nothing at all, it is as if you hadn't clicked the option?

Thanks, Allan
 

plettieri

Well-known Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
1,556
Platform
  1. MacOS

ADVERTISEMENT

Hi Allan Paterson:

Try copying and *1 then pasting a portion of your sheet to a new range and see if you can format that new range.

plettieri
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
Allan,

that's strange

so the option is not greyed out, but there is no box
and it is still working within other spreadsheets

I'm out if resources: perhaps seeing your sheet could help. Feel free to send part of your worksheet by email, so I can take a look...

best regards,
Erik
 

Allan Paterson

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
8
Hi,

Thanks, I think I've solved it - If you format using the toolbar tools (colour coding for example) suddenly the right click and Format cell function works again! So all I did was highlight the whole area colour yellow and then change back to "none" and I could format as normal.

Our IT dept thinks that going from our ERP to Acess to Excel set some flags and this could have been avoided by saving the Access output as a CSV file first then saving in Excel but I've not tried that due to the simpler solution (from my point of view) above.

Anyway thanks for your help.

Allan
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,113,914
Messages
5,545,015
Members
410,646
Latest member
LegenDSlayeR
Top