formula help - probably simple but I'm new to this!

Kangolia

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a weekly resource sheet that gets extracted from an external data source into excel. The team add an extra column (O) to add comments that are forever changing in a shared Teams environment.

The name of the person always sits in column D and the comments related to that person always sits in column O.

We manually copy and paste the comments over one by one because of filters and because the list is not in the same order.

Is there a formula to easily find the comments related to that person from last week and automate it to transfer onto the new list by way of a formula???

For instance: looking up someone's name who resides in say D2, but on the previous sheet could be residing in D27, I would need the comments from O2 to go into O27.

TIA

Attachments

• rag test.PNG
    rag test.PNG
    60.5 KB · Views: 4

Excel Facts

Last used cell?
Press Ctrl+End to move to what Excel thinks is the last used cell.
Try

Sheet1

Book2
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOP
1NameComment
2AComment1
3BComment2
4CComment3
5DComment4
6EComment5
7FComment6
8GComment7
9HComment8
Sheet1

Sheet2

Book2
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOP
1NameComment
2BComment2
3DComment4
4AComment1
5CComment3
6HComment8
7GComment7
8FComment6
Sheet2
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
O2:O8O2=INDEX(Sheet1!O:O,MATCH(Sheet2!D2,Sheet1!D:D,0))

Upvote 0
Thank you so much for your quick reply. I seemed to have confused myself with this now as I think the sheet names were in the wrong order so I changed it and it worked and now I get a error so i thought we could start again and I show you my screen shots as a mock up if we could use this example so I dont get confused lol

1626684778696.png