Formula in Macro

G-Matriix

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
139
Hello All,

I am trying to have my macro put in a formula and I am getting a error. The formula I was trying to put in was this:
Code:
=IF(AND(OR(X2>0,Y2>0),(AND(AE2<=0,AF2<=0))),"Late PU",IF(AND(AND(X2<=0,Y2<=0),(OR(AE2>0,AF2>0))),"Late Del",IF(AND(OR(X2>0,Y2>0),(OR(AE2>0,AF2>0))),"Both",IF(AND(X2<=0,Y2<=0,AE2<=0,AF2<=0,AH2<>""),"LRC","NONE"))))

I have it in VB as:
Code:
Range("BV2").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=IF(AND(OR(RC[-52]>0,RC[-51]>0),(AND(RC[-45]<=0,RC[-44]<=0))),"Late PU",IF(AND(AND(RC[-52]<=0,RC[-51]<=0),(OR(RC[-45]>0,RC[-44]>0))),"Late Del",IF(AND(OR(RC[-52]>0,RC[-51]>0),(OR(RC[-45]>0,RC[-44]>0))),"Both",IF(AND(RC[-52]<=0,RC[-51]<=0,RC[-45]<=0,RC[-44]<=0,RC[-42]<>""),"LRC","NONE"))))"
Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("BV2:BV5000"), Type:=xlFillDefault

However, It is giving me a error. I imagine that the formula is too long but I am not sure. Any Ideas??

Please help!

Thanks
 

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.

QuietRiot

Well-known Member
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,079
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
i think its the commas or quotes

chr(34) for quotes

ill test this out in a second
 
Upvote 0

QuietRiot

Well-known Member
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,079
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
try this:

Code:
"=IF(AND(OR(X2>0,Y2>0),(AND(AE2<=0,AF2<=0)))," & Chr(34) & "Late PU" & Chr(34) & ",IF(AND(AND(X2<=0,Y2<=0),(OR(AE2>0,AF2>0)))," & Chr(34) & "Late Del" & Chr(34) & ",IF(AND(OR(X2>0,Y2>0),(OR(AE2>0,AF2>0)))," & Chr(34) & "Both" & Chr(34) & ",IF(AND(X2<=0,Y2<=0,AE2<=0,AF2<=0,AH2<>" & Chr(34) & Chr(34) & ")," & Chr(34) & "LRC" & Chr(34) & "," & Chr(34) & "NONE" & Chr(34) & "))))"

PS.. that was brutal sticking all those chr(34)'s in there
 
Upvote 0

QuietRiot

Well-known Member
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,079
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
are you sure its working?

for some reason im getting single quotes around x2, y2 etc. if you take them out it seems to be working.

not sure why the single quotes came up.
 
Upvote 0

G-Matriix

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
139
your right............maybe there is another way...I would be able to take the single quote out of all of these....
 
Upvote 0

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,358
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
The single quotes are caused by using FormulaR1C1 with a formula that contains A1 notation.
 
Upvote 0

QuietRiot

Well-known Member
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,079
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
The single quotes are caused by using FormulaR1C1 notation with a formula that contains A1 notation.

oh, lol

so just change it to formula instead

Code:
Range("BV2").Formula = "=IF(AND(OR(X2>0,Y2>0),(AND(AE2<=0,AF2<=0)))," & Chr(34) & "Late PU" & Chr(34) & ",IF(AND(AND(X2<=0,Y2<=0),(OR(AE2>0,AF2>0)))," & Chr(34) & "Late Del" & Chr(34) & ",IF(AND(OR(X2>0,Y2>0),(OR(AE2>0,AF2>0)))," & Chr(34) & "Both" & Chr(34) & ",IF(AND(X2<=0,Y2<=0,AE2<=0,AF2<=0,AH2<>" & Chr(34) & Chr(34) & ")," & Chr(34) & "LRC" & Chr(34) & "," & Chr(34) & "NONE" & Chr(34) & "))))"
 
Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
1,191,054
Messages
5,984,378
Members
439,883
Latest member
onions44

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top