Formula Referencing Cells in Different Sheets

Cowbilly

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am a self-taught Excel user so I have no formal formula training. What I am trying to accomplish is this (if it can be done), highlight a cell in Sheet 1 of a workbook if a cell in Sheet 2 contains any text (such as an "X").

Sheet 1 will be a snapshot of tasks accomplished/not accomplished. If the cell next to the task name is highlighted, then the task is accomplished.
Sheet 2 (and subsequent sheets) are individual tasks further broken down by sub-tasks. I plan to place an "X" in a cell once a sub-task is complete.

Once an "X" is placed next to the sub-task on Sheet 2, Sheet 3, Sheet 4, etc., I should see it reflected at a glance on Sheet 1. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance for time and assistance!

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
This is not so much a matter of Excel's capability, but how this problem is to be solved.

Let's say in your worksheets...
Sheet-1 contains Task Name
Sheet-2 also contains Task Name, also a sub Task Name
Sheet-3...as Sheet-2 above

Set up hidden indicators
You can set up hidden indicators in Sheet-2 and other sheets.
(how this is set up depends on how your worksheet is set up)

vLookUp
With these hidden indicators, you can vLookup from Sheet-1 to look up the hidden indicators.
If you get a positive result, write something in the Sheet-1 cell (that you want to show a color).

Conditional Formatting
Then you can use conditional formatting to show a desired color if the cell is not blank.

Hiding the vLookUp result in Sheet-1
If you do not want to see the vLookUp results, you can format the cells to hide the content.
Select the cells (or column) that you want to hide any text, then choose Format -> Custom Format -> and enter three semicolons ( ; ; ; )
CustomFormat.jpg

Show us a sample
Can you show us how your spreadsheet looks like?