Formula seperators

brianfosterblack

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
133
I have just upgraded to office 365 for Business
All my formulae now contain the semi-colon symbol instead of the comma symbol and I have to capture a formula now using the semi-colon. Is this a setting I need to change to continue using the comma?

e.g. vlookup(A15, A7:C14, 3, false) now shows as vlookup(A15; A7:C14; 3; false)
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.

brianfosterblack

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
133
Thank you but that is not working
My list seperator is set as a comma but in the formula it is seperated by a semi-colon and not a comma
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
42,953
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Have you checked the Language setting in File > Advanced > Language
 

brianfosterblack

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
133
My language was set to English South Africa and I have now changed it to English US but I still have the same problem. My formula looks like this =COUNTIF(F3:BC3;">=1") where the semi colon is replacing the comma. I now also have to write a formula using the semi colon instead of a comma.
I have another computer running on Windows 7 and office 365 and when I move the same workbook onto that computer the formula shows with a comma
=COUNTIF(F3:BC3,">=1")
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
42,953
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
It will be something to do with the language settings on the computer, or in Xl.
Unfortunately difficult to help any further without access to the computer.
 

brianfosterblack

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
133
I have been playing around with this and in my regional settings, advanced settings my list seperator is set to a comma. If I change this to a fullstop, my formula shows as a a fullstop in place of a semi-colon but if I then change my list seperator back to a comma, it once again shows as a semi-colon instead of a comma.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,858
Messages
5,489,306
Members
407,686
Latest member
Chuck1960

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Timer in VBA - Stop, Start, Pause and Reset
    [CODE=vba][/CODE] Option Explicit Dim CmdStop As Boolean Dim Paused As Boolean Dim Start Dim TimerValue As Date Dim pausedTime As Date Sub...
  • how to updates multiple rows in muliselect listbox
    Hello everyone. I need help with below code. code is only chaning 1st row in mulitiselect list box. i know issue with code...
  • Delete Row from Table
    I am trying to delete a row from a table using VBA using a named range to find what I need to delete. My Range is finding the right cell. In the...
  • Assigning to a variable
    I have a for each block where I want to assign the value in column 5 of the found row to the variable Serv. [CODE=vba] For Each ws In...
  • Way to verify information
    Hi All, I don't know what to call this formula, and therefore can't search. I have a spreadsheet with information I want to reference...
  • Active Cell Address – Inactive Sheet
    How to use VBA to get the cell address of the active cell in an inactive worksheet and then place that cell address in a location on the current...
Top