formula to auto input a date

spaciedawn

Hi,
I am a nurse at a prison and I have close to 1200 patients that I have to keep up with different medical information. None of our records are electronic so needless to say I am trying to create a "manual" E-MAR..that being said, I am administering TB shots and then entering the date of the shot in one cell and I would like it if the cell next to it could automatically figure when the next shot has to be done. A TB shot is done every year. so far, I have been doing this manually, PLEASE, if anyone can help me with a formula for this I would be so grateful. Also, I should say I am kinda new to excel. Any help would be great!! Thanks in advance;)

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
Hi,
I am a nurse at a prison and I have close to 1200 patients that I have to keep up with different medical information. None of our records are electronic so needless to say I am trying to create a "manual" E-MAR..that being said, I am administering TB shots and then entering the date of the shot in one cell and I would like it if the cell next to it could automatically figure when the next shot has to be done. A TB shot is done every year. so far, I have been doing this manually, PLEASE, if anyone can help me with a formula for this I would be so grateful. Also, I should say I am kinda new to excel. Any help would be great!! Thanks in advance;)

Here's an option...

Alt-F11
Insert Module
paste this code in

Code:
Function NextYear(cell As Range)
With cell
    NextYear = Format(DateAdd("yyyy", 1, .Value), .NumberFormat)
End With
End Function
Then if you enter a date in cell A4, use the following in cell B4
=NextYear(A4)

You can then copy that formula to whatever cell(s) you need.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!